Sixteen More Counties Moving to Green, Lehigh Valley to Yellow Phase of COVID-19 Reopening Beginning on June 5

HARRISBURG – An additional 16 counties will move to the green phase of reopening on June 5, according to Senate Appropriations Chairman Pat Browne.

All counties in the state, including Lehigh and Northampton, still in the red phase will move to the yellow phase of reopening on June 5.

“I am glad to see that the Lehigh Valley is in a position to begin the reopening process,” Senator Browne said. “While stringent health and safety guidelines will still be in place for business and social activities, we must all continue to do our part to mitigate and stop the spread of the virus.”

Counties moving to the green phase on June 5 are: Allegheny, Armstrong, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Clinton, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Indiana, Lycoming, Mercer, Somerset, Washington and Westmoreland.

Counties that entered the green phase yesterday are: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango and Warren.

The green phase of reopening allows all businesses to conduct in-person operations as long as the businesses follow guidelines from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

The yellow phase of reopening allows businesses with in-person operations to open with strict health guidelines and building safety orders in place to reduce the risk of infection. Telework must still continue where feasible. School closures and restrictions on congregate care, prison visits and large gatherings of more than 25 people will remain in place. Indoor recreation, health and wellness facilities and entertainment venues will remain closed, and restaurants and bars will still be limited to carry-out, outdoor dining and delivery only.

CONTACT: Matt Szuchyt-, 610-360-8426